New Mexico Wildlife

New Mexico Department of Game & FIsh

Home |  Recreation |  Apps & Permits |  Enforcement |  Conservation |  Education |  OHV |  Commission

Employee of the Month 

Last Updated: 10/03/07

October 2007

Matt Seidel scoring seized antelope
Matt measuring the score of a seized antelope buck

Name:  

Matt Seidel

Position:  

Outfitter and Guide Registrar

Area of Responsibility:

Supervise the outfitter and guide program for the Department.  

Education:  

Bachelor of Science in Agriculture, Major in Wildlife Science, NMSU.

Length of Service:

10 years.

Specialty or Interest:  

Specialize in criminal and administrative investigations. I like to think outside the box and create new methods of catching poachers abusing our natural resources.

Current Projects/Assignments:

Assisting the Department's Area Offices in plain clothes law enforcement operations. Working on next season's outfitter renewals and rolling over the computer data to accept those registrations. Working on 9 investigations against outfitters and ensuring outfitters are meeting the requirements under State Statute and Game Commission Regulation on providing current insurance. Assisting 6 Conservation Officers with criminal investigations in this State as well as two other States.     

Best Thing About the Job:  

Never bored always something to do, get to play in the great outdoors. Love the smells and noises of the early morning at sunrise whether on top of a mountain or near a body of water.

Most Common Question People Have:

How can I become an outfitter/guide?

Answer:

To be a guide you have to be 18 years or older with no felony convictions at any time or wildlife violations of 20 points or more in the last 3 years. Simply fill out an application and mail it with a $50 resident fee or a $100 non-resident fee. You must pass a 100 question test with a 70% or better.

 

To be an outfitter you have to be 21 years or older with no felony convictions at any time or wildlife violations of 20 points or more in the last 3 years. Simply fill out an application and mail it with a registration fee of $500.00 with photo copies of liability insurance, N.M. tax identification number, 3 years of experience in outfitting, hunter education card. You must pass a 100 queston test with a 70% or better.

Contact Information:

Direct line phone: 505-222-4711 or email me at matthew.seidel@state.nm.us

 

 

 

spacer